Torrential rain hampers progress in Malaysia

Posted: 21 Oct 2012

Lorenzo in Malaysia
Today’s Malaysian MotoGP race was cancelled and the result declared after 12 laps when torrential rain engulfed the Sepang circuit. As a result of standing water on the track, GP officials were forced to red-flag the race with seven laps to go, and the event was later abandoned – meaning Dani Pedrosa, who was leading the race by more than three seconds from Jorge Lorenzo, was awarded the race victory for the fifth time in six races.

Repsol Honda rider Pedrosa had been looking strong all weekend, qualifying in second position then dominating the timesheet during this morning's practice session ahead of current MotoGP Champion Casey Stoner and Lorenzo. However, in the afternoon's race, which was declared wet from the start, it was Lorenzo who clinched the holeshot.

Keen to taste the victory Champagne, Pedrosa wasn’t going to give Lorenzo an easy ride, and the Spaniard continued to put the pressure on the Yamaha rider for the top spot. He saw his chance to pass Lorenzo and made his move just after the halfway point in the race, pulling out a small advantage on his title rival.

The worsening track conditions resulted in a number of riders crashing out of the race including Ben Spies, Andrea Dovizioso, Randy de Puniet, Stefan Bradl, Ivan Silva and Bennetts-supported Cal Crutchlow.

The race was red-flagged during lap 13 and after much deliberating, the race was cancelled. Pedrosa was announced the winner, with Lorenzo and Stoner completing the podium positions. Pedrosa is now within 23 points of current series leader Lorenzo with two races left to play out.

In other news, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese was the first rider to win the inaugural Moto3 Championship.

Latest Racing News
  • World superbike
    World superbike announces reverse grids for 2017!
  • Bradley Smith talks to James Whitham at Motorcycle Live 2016
    Bradley Smith on his horror injury: "I didn’t want to end six fantastic years with Tech3 sat on a hospital bed"
  • Sylvain Guintoli
    Sylvain Guintoli to spearhead Bennetts Suzuki challenge in 2017
  • Michael Dunlop
    Dunlop to race Gilera in McIntyre tribute Classic TT