Pedrosa lays down the law at Sepang test

By Marc Potter
marcpotter Tested every new bike since 1994, loves anything on two wheels, runs Potski Media, ex-BikeSocial boss. Recently discovered elbow-down riding - likely to end in tears.

Dani Pedrosa with his new Repsol Honda. No wonder he looks so happy for once.
Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa continued to lay down the law on day two of the Sepang MotoGP test by setting the fastest time of  2.00’549, just 0.019s ahead of Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Marquez was in third place showing the rookie’s impressive form on day one was no fluke, with Valentino Rossi showing the GOAT still has life in him yet by clocking fourth and continuing to improve his feel with the bike and a programme of testing improvements to the Yamaha M1.
Onlookers said Rossi was aggressive on track and smiling in the pits, something that MotoGP hasn’t seen for some time.

Further down the order Team Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith improved by 1.5s from day one to clock eighth best time. Brit hero Cal Crutchlow continued to improve from where he left off last year and finished just seven hundredths of a second from Pedrosa, with very few new parts to try.

1                      PEDROSA, 2:00.549                                   
2                      LORENZO, 2:00.568           
3                      MARQUEZ, 2:00.803           
4                      ROSSI,         2:01.038           
5                      CRUTCHLOW, 2:01.311           
6                      BRADL,              2:01.369           
7                      BAUTISTA,        2:01.729           
8                      SMITH,               2:01.931           
9                      HAYDEN,           2:02.110           
10                     DOVIZIOSO,     2:02.379           
11                     AKIYOSHI,        2:02.526           
12                     NAKASUGA,     2:02.701           
13                     SPIES, Ben          2:03.002           
14                     YOSHIKAWA,   2:03.156           
15                     IANNONE,         2:03.169           
16                     ESPARGARO,    2:03.251           
17                     DE PUNIET,       2:03.791           
18                     PETRUCCI,        2:04.284          
19                     TAKAHASHI,    2:04.559           
20                     AOYAMA,         2:04.786           
21                     BARBERA,         2:04.989           
22                     ABRAHAM,       2:05.028           
23                     LAVERTY,         2:05.417           
24                     CORTI,               2:05.721           
25                     HERNANDEZ,   2:05.837           
26                     EDWARDS,       2:06.205           
27                     STARING,         2:06.898           
28                     PESEK,             2:26.782

Latest Racing News
  • World superbike
    World superbike announces reverse grids for 2017!
  • Bradley Smith talks to James Whitham at Motorcycle Live 2016
    Bradley Smith on his horror injury: "I didn’t want to end six fantastic years with Tech3 sat on a hospital bed"
  • Sylvain Guintoli
    Sylvain Guintoli to spearhead Bennetts Suzuki challenge in 2017
  • Michael Dunlop
    Dunlop to race Gilera in McIntyre tribute Classic TT