Brits dominate 48th Macau GP

Author: Bike Social reporter Posted: 16 Nov 2014

Easton wins 2014 Macau GP

This weekend’s 48th running of the prestigious Macau GP ended with Brits dominating the top five places. Paul Bird Motorsport’s Stuart Easton clinched victory from second placed Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp in third, while Gary Johnson and Lee Johnston made up the top five.

Thirty-year-old double British Supersport Champion Easton made the infamous Chinese road race look relatively easy, having first secured pole position aboard the Kawasaki on Friday. Then, during the 12-lap event, the 2014 BSB Rider's Cup Champion was never headed as he steadily built a lead lap-by-lap before finishing the race more than 14 seconds ahead of eight-time Macau GP winner Rutter.

It was Scotsman Easton’s fourth Macau GP victory, adding to his successes in 2008, 2009 and 2010 before serious injury saw him miss the 2011 race. He said: "To come back after three years and win again is fantastic although I didn't expect it to be quite so easy. I knew my wife and my little boy were watching back home so I had to do it for them. It was a case of just getting my head down and building a lead and I was comfortable putting the laps in. Thanks to the team, this is a great way to end the season on a high."

In addition, fellow Brits John McGuinness, Daniel Cooper and Stephen Thompson finished seventh, eighth and tenth respectively.

2014 Macau GP race results

  1. Stuart Easton           29:45.143
  2. Michael Rutter        +14.050
  3. Martin Jessopp       +14.505
  4. Gary Johnson          +15.717
  5. Lee Johnston           +24.163
  6. Horst Saiger             +26.330
  7. John McGuinness   +30.479
  8. Daniel Cooper          +49.091
  9. Roman Stamm         +49.449
  10. Stephen Thompson +53.760

Image taken from Courtesy of GCS.

Read more…



Latest Racing News
  • BikeSocial have a signed copy of Seeing Red’s stunning 2019 Bennetts BSB season review. Here’s how to get your name in the hat…
    WIN a BSB season review book - signed by Scott Redding!
  • 23-time TT winner, John McGuinness, returns to the road racing scene for 2020 on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki
    McGuinness confirms Kawasaki Isle of Man TT ride
  • GALLERY – RST Superbike Race 1 (2019)
    CONFIRMED - TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2020
  • James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
    James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200