2015 British Superbike grid taking shape

Author: Bike Social Sports Reporter Posted: 29 Nov 2014

The 2015 grid is starting to take shape

With the announcement that James Westmoreland will join James Ellison in the JG Speedfit GBmoto Kawasaki outfit, the British Superbike grid is starting to fill up for 2015.

Until the last few weeks, the grid had been looking a little sparse as teams anxiously waited for the largest piece of the jigsaw to fall in to place – where four time champion Shane Byrne would choose to ride.

Despite reportedly coming close to a deal with Tyco BMW (formerly Suzuki), Byrne opted to remain with Paul Bird’s Rapid Solicitors-backed team for the fourth consecutive year. He’ll be joined once again by Stuart Easton in what looks to be a two man squad.  

We already knew Josh Brookes was staying put at Milwaukee Yamaha and last weekend at Motorcycle Live it was revealed his team mate would be fellow Aussie Broc Parkes. The duo will also compete in a number of World Superbike wildcard rounds for Yamaha aboard the all new YZF-R1.

McConnell returns to the Superbike class with Smiths

Also announced at this week’s bike show was that British Supersport Champion Billy McConnell will make a return to the superbike class with the Smiths team who adopt BMW machinery for their litre class debut. More news included Vittorio Iannuzzo signing for the Tsingtao MV Agusta team.

Quattro Plant Kawasaki also revealed their line-up; Luke Mossey and Howie Mainwaring will compete aboard Pete Exstance’s ZX10Rs while Jed Metcher joins the PR Racing team for 2015.

Seats still to be announced include the two at Tyco TAS Racing, with the team likely to switch to BMW, the spot alongside Ryuichi Kiyonari in the Buildbase, squad, Halsall Racing, TAG Kawasaki, RAF Reserves and more!

Here’s how the grid shapes up so far, anything in italics is yet to be confirmed.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki – Shane Byrne & Stuart Easton
Milwaukee Yamaha – Josh Brookes & Broc Parkes
Buildbase BMW – Ryuichi Kiyonari & Lee Jackson?
Honda Racing – Dan Linfoot & Jason O’Halloran
JG Speedfit Kawasaki – James Ellison & James Westmoreland
Smith’s BMW – Billy McConnell
Tsingtao MV Agusta – Vittorio Iannuzzo
PR Kawasaki – Jed Metcher
Quattro Plant Kawasaki – Howie Mainwaring & Luke Mossey
Be Wiser Kawasaki – Danny Buchan & Chris Walker
Tyco BMW Tommy Bridewell? Michael Laverty?
Halsall Racing – Jon Kirkham? Josh Waters?
TAG Kawasaki - ??????
RAF Reserves – Peter Hickman?
IWR BMW – Patric Muff? Michael Rutter?
Moto Rapido Ducati – Jakub Smrz? & ?????????
WD40 Kawasaki-

Latest Racing News
  • bridewell_2021
    Bridewell stays put for 2021 Bennetts BSB season
  • Revised post covid MotoGP calendar
    2020 MotoGP Calendar, Championship Table and TV Times
  • bmw_bsb_riders_2021
    Hickman, Fores & Olsen sign for all-new FHO Racing Team
  • THUMB_2019_Isle_of_Man_TT_Lightweight_TT_025
    Lightweight Rules Shakeup | Isle of Man TT