BSB Round 3 - Oulton Park

Posted: 07 May 2012


Reigning British Superbike Champion Tommy Hill has won the opening race at an incident-plagued Oulton Park in Cheshire today.  

Josh Brookes clinched the holeshot from Gary Mason and Jon Kirkham. However, the safety car had to be deployed for two laps after an incident involving Alex Lowes and Freddy Foray at Lakeside. When the race resumed, Brookes maintained his position at the front of the pack, with Alastair Seeley slotting into second position.

However, the race was red flagged after Kirkham crashed heavily at Water Tower.

The restarted race, which was held over eight laps, turned out to be an intense battle between Swan Yamaha team-mates Hill and Noriyuki Haga, and Brookes. By the sixth lap, Hill had taken the lead and pushed hard for the eventual victory, with Haga second and Australian Brookes taking the final rostrum position.

  1. Tommy Hill
  2. Noriyuki Haga +1.525s
  3. Josh Brookes +1.685s
  4. Alastair Seeley +4.320s
  5. Tommy Bridewell +4.460s
  6. Michael Laverty +6.340s
  7. Chris Walker +6.879s
  8. Michael Rutter +9.223s
  9. Stuart Easton +9.252s
  10. James Westmoreland +9.661s


Chris Walker has won the fifth race in the 2012 British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park today. It was his first BSB win since 2000. The Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki rider rode a controlled race, ‘stalking’ up the field from his tenth place qualifying position to close in on leader Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne with four laps remaining.

Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider Bryne secured second place at the chequered flag, which was his best result of the season so far. Tyco Suzuki rider Brookes completed the third step of the podium and edges up to the top of the overall championship standings.

Meanwhile, reigning British Superbike Champion Tommy Hill was fourth across the line, with Stuart Easton and Alastair Seeley finishing fifth and sixth respectively.

  1. Chris Walker
  2. Shane Byrne +1.790s
  3. Josh Brookes +4.212s
  4. Tommy Hill +14.865s
  5. Stuart Easton +17.512s
  6. Alastair Seeley +18.071s
  7. Tommy Bridewell +19.356s
  8. Patric Muff +29.967s
  9. Dan Linfoot +33.367s
  10. Alex Lowes +34.810s


Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has clinched his first victory in the 2012 British Superbike Championship in the third race at Oulton Park today. Although he was in a lowly sixth position during the opening laps, he managed to barge up the field on his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki to take the lead during the latter stages of the race.

Byrne’s team-mate Stuart Easton enjoyed a fantastic start from a 12th place qualifying position – leading the field into Old Hall from Chris Walker, Graeme Gowland and Josh Brookes.

Reigning BSB Champion Tommy Hill clinched second place at the chequered flag, with Brookes fourth, and Tommy Bridewell fifth.

  1. Shane Byrne
  2. Tommy Hill +2.612s
  3. Stuart Easton +5.481s
  4. Josh Brookes +6.093s
  5. Tommy Bridewell +10.464s
  6. Noriyuki Haga +13.209s
  7. Michael Laverty +13.637s
  8. Graeme Gowland +13.865s
  9. Chris Walker +18.276s
  10. Alex Lowes +18.514s