BSB Round 11 - Silverstone

Posted: 30 Sep 2012

Alex Lowes has stormed to a sensational double win at Silverstone today, the penultimate round of the 2012 British Superbike Championship. The WFR Honda rider had been looking strong all weekend, posting the fastest time in free practice before qualifying on pole ahead of the two races at the Northamptonshire circuit.

Despite an intense battle with fellow title fighters Michael Laverty, Tommy Hill and Josh Brooks in race one, Lowes quickly settled into a good pace, passing early race leader Laverty and maintaining his position at the front of the pack until the chequered flag. He crossed the finish line with more than a five-second advantage over second placed Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne, while Samsung Honda rider Laverty finished on the third step of the podium.

In race two, it was Byrne who took the holeshot, leading the field into Copse from Brookes and Tommy Bridewell. However, the chasing riders weren’t about to give the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki an easy ride, and joined by Laverty and Lowes, they battled hard throughout the opening laps for the leading position.

By lap nine, Lowes had ramped up his campaign for the top spot, taking the lead at Abbey, before swapping and changing places with Brookes and Byrne until the final lap. He made his final challenge at Luffield – clinching the lead at the chequered flag. Byrne had to settle for second place, while Brookes completed the podium in third.

Race one result

  1. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +5.021s
  3. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +5.451s
  4. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +8.437s
  5. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +8.716s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +9.493s
  7. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +11.882s
  8. Luca Scassa (Padgetts Honda) +13.893s
  9. Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda)  +14.124s
  10. Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +19.507s

Race two result

  1. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.042s
  3. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +0.516s
  4. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +4.125s
  5. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +5.332s
  6. Luca Scassa (Padgetts Honda) +9.726s
  7. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +10.638s
  8. Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +11.126s
  9. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +16.722s
  10. Peter Hickman (Buildbase BMW) +18.791s

British Superbike Championship standings

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 608
  2. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) 599
  3. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) 584
  4. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 566
  5. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) 559
Latest Racing News
  • World Superbikes - Round 12 Argentina TV Times
    World Superbikes [ Argentina ] - Weekend schedule & TV times
  • BSB2020 Lee Jackson signs for FS3 Kawasaki
    Jackson partners Buchan at FS-3 Racing in BSB for 2020
  • Jack Kennedy joins Dan Linfoot at Santander Salt TAG Racing for 2020
    Kennedy joins Linfoot TAG Racing 2020 BSB season
  •  Brookes: “I’m coming up short every weekend”
    BSB2019 | Donington - Josh Brookes Interview