BSB Round 5 – Knockhill

Posted: 24 Jun 2012


Despite being plagued by rain throughout the weekend, race one at the fifth round of the British Superbike Championship at Knockhill kicked off without a hitch.

Michael Laverty took the holeshot, with Shane “Shakey” Byrne and series champion Tommy Hill closely behind.  However, James Hillier high-sided at the end of lap one - rendering him out of contention for the remainder of the race.

After five laps, Byrne had slipped into first place, a position he maintained until the end of the race.

Meanwhile, racing veteran Chris Walker was forced to retire from the race with engine problems. However, the rider had overcome massive odds to begin with, having got back on the bike after sustaining two broken heels during practice.   

  1. Shane Byrne
  2. Tommy Hill +1.199
  3. Michael Laverty +1.551
  4. Josh Brookes +8.494
  5. Tommy Bridewell +10.160
  6. Noriyuki Haga +10.211
  7. Alastair Seeley +11.085
  8. Graeme Gowland +12.835
  9. Alex Lowes +13.924
  10. Michael Rutter +20.835


Keen to repeat his first race victory, Shane Byrne made a good start off the grid in the second race of the day – holding second position on the first lap. However, it was Tommy Hill who got the holeshot – keen to score some vital points to add to his championship tally.

Michael Laverty and Ian Lowry were chasing close behind, with Josh Brookes and Noriyuki Haga also moving up the pack to join the frontrunners.

However, at the chequered flag, it was Laverty who clinched the win, with Byrne in second and Hill completing the third step of the podium.

  1. Michael Laverty
  2. Shane Byrne +0.765
  3. Tommy Hill +3.091
  4. Josh Brookes +4.119
  5. James Westmoreland +11.068
  6. Tommy Bridewell +11.227
  7. Alastair Seeley +13.074
  8. Alex Lowes +15.389
  9. Graeme Gowland +16.658
  10. Ian Lowry +21.224
Latest Racing News
  • BikeSocial have a signed copy of Seeing Red’s stunning 2019 Bennetts BSB season review. Here’s how to get your name in the hat…
    WIN a BSB season review book - signed by Scott Redding!
  • 23-time TT winner, John McGuinness, returns to the road racing scene for 2020 on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki
    McGuinness confirms Kawasaki Isle of Man TT ride
  • GALLERY – RST Superbike Race 1 (2019)
    CONFIRMED - TT Qualifying & Race schedule 2020
  • James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200
    James Hillier to ride for OMG Racing in 2020 | TT & NW200